Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award

The Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award recognizes the leadership and service qualities of a Student Section Advisor who has completed at least 3 academic years as a Student Section Advisor prior to nomination for the award.

A nomination for this award is expected to substantiate the leadership and service qualities of the nominee by reference to accomplishments in at least the following areas:

Providing guidance to the Student Section on the activities and programs that will stimulate interest in the profession

Creating a professional awareness in Student Members which will inspire them to upgrade to Member before graduation and to maintain a continuous active membership in ASME

Encouraging Student Section officers to get involved and participate at ASME training, conferences and competitions

Acting as a liaison between the ASME and the Student Section members

Facilitating interaction of Student Members with the local ASME Section

Working with the department chair to encourage the support of the ASME Student Section activities

Supporting the Student Section and guiding students’ activities

Participating in ASME student related activities

The award was established in 1990 as the Faculty Advisor Award in a dual effort by the Committee on Honors and the Council on Member Affairs to bring recognition to the Student Section Advisors for their contributions to perpetuating ASME. In 2000, the award was re-designated the Student Section Advisor Award and in 2014 it became the Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award.

Form of Award:

$1500 honorarium, a silver medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750

Limitation(s): Student Section Advisor must have completed at least 3 academic years as a Student Section Advisor prior to nomination for the award.
Nomination Deadline: March 1 to the General Awards Committee
Committee Chair: J. Oehring
Nomination SentTo: mckivorf@asme.org
Phone Number: 212-591-7094
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee
Awarded By: Committee on Honors


1992 Richard A. Fitz
San Diego State University
2006 Debendra K. Das
University of Alaska at Fairbanks
1993 M. Sathyamoorthy
University of Texas at Tyler
2007 Ronald S. Adrezin
University of Hartford
1994 Paul C. Lam
University of Akron
2008 James P. O'/Leary
Tufts University
1995 Charles F. Reinholtz
Virginia Polytechnic Institute
2009 Timothy C. Scott
University of Virginia
1996 Richard R. Johnson
North Carolina State University
2010 Zbigniew Marian Bzymek
niversity of Connecticut
1997 Latif Jiji
City College of New York
2011 Jay M. Samuel
University of Wisconsin
1998 Chittaranjan Sahay
State University of New York at Binghamton
2012 Rick Couvillion
University of Arkansas
1999 Shirley T. Fleischmann
Grand Valley State University
2013 Richard A. Merz
Lafayette College
2000 Kenneth L. Gentili
Tacoma Community College
2014 Antonios Kontsos
Drexel University
2001 Abel-Hernandez-Guerrero
University of Guanajuato at Salamanca
2015 Selin Arslan
awrence Technical University
2002 Massimo Capobianchi
Gonzaga University
2016 Kok-Keung Lo
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
2003 Ghatu Subhash
Michigan Technological University
2017 Nadir Yilmaz
Howard University
2004 Beth Ann Todd
University of Alabama
2019 Mohammad Mahinfalah
Milwaukee School of Engineering
2005 Lanier S. Cauley
University of South Alabama
2020 Jason Ash 
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
    2021 Charbel Bou-Mosleh
Notre Dame University-Louaize


Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award Criteria

Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org