Rayleigh Lecture

ASME Unit: Noise Control and Acoustics Division (NCAD)
Date Established: 1985
Achievement: This award is given in recognition of presenting the Rayleigh Lecture at the annual ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition. Lecturers are selected among those who have made pioneering contributions to the sciences and applications of noise control and acoustics.
Limitations: None
Nomination Deadline: 9/1
Form of Award: $1,500.00
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Noise Control and Acoustics Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: Invitation by the NCAD Executive Committee
Selecting Process: Honor is conferred upon invited lecturer
Funding: Division Custodian Fund
Date Created: 11/8/2000
Date Modified: 6/26/2012
Contact Name:  
Contact Email:  
Contact Phone:  

Winners of the Rayleigh Lecture

2022  Dr. Marco Amabili, Nonlinear Damping and Active Control in Vibrations: Modelling and Experiments
2021 Dr. Stephen A. Hambric, Tutorial on Vibroacoustics
2020 Prof. Kon-Well Wang, Vibration and Noise Control Harnessing Reconfigurable Modular Metastructures
2019 Professor Earl H. Dowell, Theoretical and Experimental models for fluid structure interaction: Correlation is the key
2018 Professor Roger Ohayon, Computational Vibroacoustics in low and medium frequency bands
2017 Dr. Chris Fuller, Acoustic Meta Materials
2016 Dr. Victor Sparrow, Two Approaches to reduce the noise impact of overland civilian supersonic flight
2015 Dr. J. Inman, Good Vibrations: Low Power Energy Harvesting
2014 Dr. Mardi Hastings, Going underwater with acoustic resonators and waveguides
2013 Dr. Eric Ungar, Walking-induced Vibrations in Buildings: Evaluation and Prediction
2012 Dr. Philip J. Morris, Jet noise prediction - a historical perspective and future directions
2011 Dr. Andrew Norris, Metamaterials in Acoustics and Vibration: From Theory to Practice
2010 Dr. Ted Farabee, Acoustics from External Flow-Structure Interactions
2009 Dr. Scott Sommerfeldt, Global Attenuation of Acoustic Fields Using Energy-Based Active Control Techniques
2008 Martin Pollack, A History of ASME Noise Control and Acoustics Division (NCAD)
2007 Robert Schlinker, Putting it all Together - The Technology stages in the Design of Propulsion Systems for Noise
2006 Donald Thompson, A Systems Approach to Noise Mitigation Strategies
2005 Robert Clark, Structural Acoustics from Macro to Micro
2004 Hafiz M. Atassi, Fluid-Structure Interaction and Acoustics
2003 Earl G. Williams, Fourier Acoustics: Uncovering the Origins of Sound
2002 Ilene Busch-Vishniac, The Big Problems Remaining in Transduction
2001 Jerry H. Ginsberg, Variational Solutions: What Rayleigh and Ritz Did Not Tell Us
2000 William K. Blake, Quiet Flow: Emerging Design Methods
1999 Adnan Akay, Acoustics of Friction
1998 Gary H. Koopmann, Designing Quiet Structures - Virtually
1997 Michael S. Howe, Rayleigh Conductivity
1996 Peter A. Nelson, Controlled Interference of Acoustic Fields
1995 Maurice M. Sevik, Information Extraction from the Scattered Acoustic Field of Waterborne Structures
1994 C. Dan Mote, Jr., Surprises in Axially Moving Material Dynamics
1993 David G. Crighton, The High-Speed Many-Bladed Propeller: Asymptotic Theory for its Acoustic Field
1992 Alan D. Pierce, Progressive Waves: The Modern Evolution and Refinement of One of the Most Basic Concepts in Acoustics
1991 David Feit, Structural Acoustics from Lord Rayleigh to the Present
1990 David T. Blackstock, Nonlinear Acoustics
1989 Sir Michael James Lighthill, Biomechanics of Hearing Sensitivity
1988 Allan Powell, Elements of Flow Noise from Rayleigh to Today
1987 Miguel C. Junger, From the Finite to the Boundless: Acoustics of Very Large Systems
1986 J. E. Ffowcs Williams, Computer Aided Silence
1985 K. Uno Ingard, Acoustics in Physics and Mechanical Engineering

You are now leaving ASME.org