Albert (Al) Woelfel Best Mechanical Engineering Achievement (BMEA) Award at OTC

Al Woelfel
The Woelfel Best Mechanical Engineering Achievement Award recognizes a product, device, or system displayed at the OTC Conference, which best reflects innovation and/or practical use of mechanical engineering in solving problems, improving design or maximizing performance. Relevant criteria include:

• Novelty
• Impact on Industry
• State of Development

This award seeks quality applicants with significant experience and contributions to the field of mechanical engineering. Patents are a good indication of said contributions. One recipient per year is chosen and he/she must be a mechanical engineer.

The namesake of this award, Al Woelfel, first graduated from Rice University in 1947 with a BS, and returned in 1974 as a classmate of his younger son to earn an MS in mechanical engineering. Al made a lasting impression with five innovative patents still in use today. He was a Life Fellow of the ASME, served on the society's National Board of Governors, and chaired the Offshore Technology Conference in 1976.

Download the application for the BMEA Award competition: Download Application

ASME Unit: Petroleum Division
Date Established: 1982
Achievement: To a company or organization for outstanding petroleum mechanical achievement displayed at the Offshore Technology Conference.
Limitations: Must be an exhibitor at the current Offshore Technology Conference
Nomination Deadline: 3/1
Form of Award: Plaque
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Petroleum Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: The Petroleum Division Judging Panel which is comprised of past and present Petroleum Division Executive Committee Members. The panel is always an odd number of members to assure no ties.
Selecting Process: OTC Exhibitors are informed of the award and given an opportunity to submit an application regarding mechanical engineering technology presented at OTC. The submitted technologies are reviewed by the Committee of Judges. The top 4 technologies are selected for a preliminary review or presentation of the technology to the Judging Panel at OTC. The judges select the top technology for an award at the Best Mechanical Engineering Achievement Awards Banquet where they will be awarded a plaque. All finalists' technologies are celebrated with a video and award.
Funding: Petroleum Division
Date Created: 11/8/2000
Date Modified: 3/28/2001
Contact Name: Jamie Hart
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 281-810-5453

Al Woelfel Best Mechanical Engineering Achievement (BMEA) Award Recipients

2024 TBD
2023 2023 BMEA Winner - Rampart Products -  Rotary Fit Connector System featuring RamTacTM
2022 DarkVision Technologies Inc., DarkVision HADES-F™
2021 No award
2020 No award
2019 AFGlobal Corporation DuraStim® Pump
2018 Baker Hughes, a GE Company– Kymera™ Mach 4 Hybrid Drill Bit
2017 Frank’s International – Frank’s International Combination Drillpipe/Casing Spider & Elevator
2016 Aker Solutions - CL4 Subsea electric actuator, EL-Drive®
2015 Versabar - Versacutter
2014 Baker Hughes for Harpoon Cut and Pull
2013 Managed Pressure Operations, part of Aker Solutions for Riser Safety System - RSS
2012 Baker Hughes for the MaxCOR Large-Diameter Rotary Sidewall Coring Service
2011 Aker Solutions for VCS, Vertical Connection System
2010 Nautilus Rigging for Nautilus Hooks
2009 Offshore Solutions, BV for Offshore Access System (OAS)
2008 INNOVATION award Only
2007 INNOVATION award Only
2006 INNOVATION award Only
2005 INNOVATION award Only
2004 INNOVATION award Only
2003 Shell International Exploration
2002 Superior Manufacturing & Hydraulics Clincher Division and Kwick Konnect Tubular Handling Services
2001 Maersk Contractors
2000 Stolt Offshore
1999 ABB Offshore Systems AS
1998 McDermott ETPM
1997 Apollo Services
1996 Maritime Hydraulics
1995 Cameo Products & Services
1994 No Award
1993 Camco
1992 The Western Company
1991 Bilco Tools, Inc.
1990 Bilco Tools, Inc.
1989 FMC Corporation
1988 FMC Corporation
1987 FMC Corporation
1986 Daniel Industries, Inc.
1985 Power Tork Hydraulics, Inc.
1984 No Award
1983 Hydril Company

You are now leaving