Avram Bar-Cohen Memorial Award

ASME Unit: Electronic & Photonic Packaging Division (EPPD)
Date Established: 1999
Achievement: Avram Bar-Cohen Memorial Award is given to a single individual once every year at the ASME InterPACK Conference.  Candidates should have demonstrated excellence and international recognition in the area of research and development related to electronic packaging, as well as service to the  technical community at large. The scientific and technical leadership is demonstrated by the refereed publications (quality and number), patents awarded, products developed, students advised, etc. candidates must also have a demonstrated leadership role in InterPACK over the years, such as  organizational leadership, track leadership, session chairing, paper presentations and reviews, and so forth. As a general guideline, scientific and technical contributions count for two-thirds of the evaluation score and service counts to one-third of the score.
Nomination Deadline: September 14
Form of Award: Award Plaque
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: EPPD
Level of Award: Division
Selected By:  EPPD Award Committee
Selecting Process: The Nomination Package should include: 1. Cover letter from nominator(s), 2. One-page justification of the candidacy from the nominator(s) and 3. Two-page summary resume including the candidate's career highlights as well as complete contact
Funding: Custodial Account
Date Created: 11/1/2019
Date Modified:  
Contact Name: Amy Spencer Fleischer
Contact Email: afleisch@calpoly.edu

Winners of the Avram Bar-Cohen Memorial Award

Year Recipient Affiliation
2022 Pradeep Lall Auburn University
2021 Prof. Shi-Wei Ricky Lee Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Winners of the InterPACK Achievement Award

Year Recipient Affiliation
2020 Cristina H. Amon University of Toronto
2019 Abhijit Dasgupta University of Maryland
2018 Ravi Mahajan Intel
2017 Ken Goodson Stanford University
2015 Bahgat G. Sammakia Binghamton University
2013 Y.C. Lee University of Colorado
2011 Yogendra Joshi Georgia Institute of Technology
2009 William Chen and Dereje Agonafer ASE and University of Texas at Arlington
2007 Avram Bar-Cohen University of Maryland
2005 Not Awarded  
2003 Richard Chu IBM Corporation
2001 Wataru Nakayama ThermTech International & Tokyo Institute of Technology
1999 Alan Kraus (Dedicated Conference) Naval Postgraduate School

You are now leaving ASME.org