Graduate Student Award

ASME Unit: Solar Energy Division (SED)
Date Established: 2000
Achievement: Recognizes an outstanding graduate student working in an area of solar energy supported by the Solar Energy Division of ASME. Areas of interest include:
  • Conservation and Solar Buildings
  • Heating and Cooling
  • Photovoltaics
  • Solar Chemistry and bio-conversion
  • Solar Thermal Power
  • Wind Energy
  • General solar topics (solar ponds, solar chimneys, OTEC, energy policy,…)
Limitations: Applicants must be student members of ASME enrolled as full-time graduate students.
Nomination Deadline: 4/26/2024
Form of Award: The award includes $500, recognition at the Awards Banquet at the annual Energy Sustainability Conference, the opportunity to give a featured talk in your chosen track at Energy Sustainability, and recognition in the conference program.
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Solar Energy Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: A committee consisting of the following two SED Executive Committee members: Past Chair and Current Chair
Selecting Process: For consideration in 2024, applicants should email an application package by April 26th, 2024. The application package should consist of: short CV, publication list, motivation letter including short research statement, and a minimum of 1 reference letter. The application material should be submitted electronically to Julia Nicodemus (email:
Funding: Custodial Account
Date Created: 11/10/2008
Date Modified: 3/4/2024
Contact Name:
Contact Email:  
Contact Phone:  

Graduate Student Award Recipients

2000 Gary Rosengaten; University of New South Wales

Runner Up - Joshua Plaisted; University of Wisconsin
2001 James McLeskey, Jr.; University of Virginia

Runner Up - Wei Liu; University of Minnesota
2002 Gunnar Tamm; University of Florida - Gainesville
2003 Sanjay Vijayaraghavan; University of Florida - Gainesville

Runner Up - Thomas Osinga; ETH - Zurich
2004 Nitin Goel; University of Florida - Gainesville
2005 Daniel Thomas; University of Minnesota
2007 Frank Burkholder; University of Colorado-Boulder
2010 Thomas Sebastian; North Carolina State University
2011 Daniel S. Codd; Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2013 John James; Dreby
2014 Thomas Cooper; ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
2015 David Curran; San Diego State University
2016 Simon Ackermann; ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
2017 Alberto Sánchez González; Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
2018 Meng Lin; École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
2020 Sha Li; Australian National University

You are now leaving