Outstanding Young Investigator Award

ASME Unit: Dynamic Systems & Control Division
Date Established: 1995
Achievement: This award is given biennially (odd years) by the Dynamic Systems and Control Division of ASME to a DSCD member who will not have reached his/her 40th birthday when the nomination is due (June 30, of the awarding year), and who as a mechanical engineering professional, has demonstrated outstanding research contributions, either basic or applied, in fields of interest to the DSCD. The nominees birthdate should be included in the nomination letter.
Limitations: Nominees selected for the Awards must have been primary members of the DSCD for at least 5 consecutive years prior to receiving the Award and have been an active contributor of the DSCD. Each Award may not be given to the same individual more than once. Any member of the DSCD Honors Committee whose term on the nominating committee includes a portion of the period in any selection cycle between the first call for nominations for an award and the final selection of the award recipient is ineligible for nomination for these awards.
Nomination Deadline: 6/30
Form of Award: Plaque or framed certificate suitable for wall hanging and a citation specific to the award recipient.
Frequency of Award: Every other year
Administrative: Dynamic Systems & Control Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: Dynamic Systems and Control Honors & Awards Committee
Selecting Process: The DSCD will make annual solicitations for nominations for the appropriate Awards by advertising sufficiently in advance by at least an email to the DSCD members. The H&A Committee shall select the Award recipients; notify them of their selection and the need to attend the Award presentation; and arrange for the plaques/certificates to be available at the Award presentations.
Funding: The Award is funded from a draw from the DSCD Custodial Fund with a cash award in an amount of at least $750.00, but less than the cash award for the Rufus Oldenburger Award. The DSCD Executive Committee may change the amounts of the cash awards at any time.
Date Created: 12/5/2008
Date Modified: 11/6/2012
Contact Name: Roberto Horowitz
Contact Email: horowitz@me.berkeley.edu
Contact Phone: (510) 643-7013

Winners of the Outstanding Young Investigator Award

1995  Homayoon Kazerooni
1997  Tsu-Chin Tsao
1999  Gary J. Balas
2001  Matt Franchek
2003  Andrew Alleyne
2005  Anna Stefanopoulou
2007  Bin Yao
2009  Douglas Adams
2011  Warren Dixon
2013  Maurizio Porfiri
2015  Rifat Sipahi
2017  Kira Barton
2021 Scott Moura
2023 Neera Jain

You are now leaving ASME.org