The ASME IGTI Aircraft Engine Technology Award

ASME Unit: International Gas Turbine Institute

Date Established: 3/1/1991

Achievement: To an individual for sustained personal creative contributions to aircraft engine technology in the areas of aircraft engine design, and/or research and development in the fields of combustion and fuels, heat transfer, manufacturing materials and metallurgy


Nomination Deadline: October 15th

Form of Award: Plaque

Frequency of Award: Annual

Administrative: ASME International Gas Turbine Institute

Level of Award: Division

Selected By: An Award Committee consisting of a representative from eight technical committees and the Chair of the IGTI Awards & Honors Committee with endorsement of the nominee by the IGTI Executive Committee.

Selecting Process: The Award Committee Chair will distribute a call for nominations in October each year. They will organize nominations received and submit the package of nominees and supporting data to members of the Award Committee. The Award Committee Chair will submit the elected candidate’s name and supporting information to the IGTI Awards and Honors Committee Chair who will bring it to the next scheduled IGTI Executive Committee meeting for final endorsement.

Funding: IGTI Operating Fund

Date Created: 10/18/2000

Date Modified: 6/12/20

Contact Name: ASME Staff

Contact Email:

Contact Phone: 1-281-493-3491

Nomination Form

Winners of the Aircraft Engine Technology Award

David G. Bogard, University of Texas at Austin
2024 David G. Bogard, University of Texas at Austin
2023 Anestis Kalfas
2022 Dr. Luis San Andrés
2021 Dr. Guillermo Paniagua
2020 Wing Ng
2019 Thomas W. Prete
2018 Charles J. Cross
2017 Mike Dunn
2016 J.C. Han
2015 Allan Epstein
2014 Ron Bunker
2013 Sigmar Wittig
2012 Walter O'Brien
2010 Riti Singh
2009 Aspi Wadia
2008 Nicholas Cumpsty
2007 Om Sharma
2006 Allan Volponi
2005 Ben Zinn
2004 David Wisler
2003 Don Bahr
2002 Dilip R. Ballal
2001 John Adamczyk
2000 Peter Tramm
1999 Louis Povinelli
1998 John Denton
1997 Budugur Lakshminarayana
1996 Arthur H. Lefebvre
1995 Edward M. Greitzer
1994 Ernst R.G. Eckert
1993 LeRoy H. Smith
1992 Christos C. Chamis

You are now leaving