A Board of Governors (BOG) chosen from the Society’s membership presides over the activities of the Society, subject to the limitations of the Constitution and By-Laws and Society Policies. A Nominating Committee selects a slate of qualified nominees annually for election to serve as President and Board of Governors Members-at-Large.


Richard Laudenat

Richard Laudenat

“Our Mission and Vision inspire us to make a difference in our world by improving the quality of life, and our strategy provides the direction for us to get there.” -RICHARD LAUDENAT


Said Jahanmir Immediate Past President
Said Jahanmir
Thomas Costabile Executive Director
Thomas Costabile
Bryan A. Erler President-Nominee
Bryan A. Erler
Todd Allen Todd Allen
Term: 2019–2022
Stuart W. Cameron Stuart W. Cameron
Term 2017–2020
Joe Fowler Joe Fowler
Term 2018–2021
Robert E. Grimes
Term 2017–2020
Laura Hitchcock Laura Hitchcock
Term: 2019–2022
Thomas Kurfess Thomas Kurfess
Term: 2019–2022
Michael Molnar Michael Molnar
Term 2018–2021
Mary Lynn Realff Mary Lynn Realff
Term 2017–2020
Karen Thole Karen Thole
Term 2018–2021

Society Officers

Robert N. Pangborn Secretary/Treasurer Robert N. Pangborn
John Delli Venneri Assistant Secretary John Delli Venneri
William Garofalo Chief Financial Officer William Garofalo


Allian Pratt Managing Director, Board Operations

Additional Information

Board of Governors' Committee Pages

Becoming an ASME Member

Joining ASME is the most important connection a current or future Mechanical Engineer can make.

Save up to 50% on courses, books, journals, conferences, and more
Student or professional memberships available